Sexuality and Aging

26 Oct

Photobucket

Check out Cindy Joseph, a 61-year-old model with gorgeous gray hair and a cheerfully lined face. Despite my extreme distaste for the modeling industry, this lady is pretty fantastic. She’s beautiful and is clearly very happy with the skin she’s in.

“I think of silver hair and crow’s feet as badges, like merit badges you get in girl scouts and boy scouts. These are the badges that I’ve earned! I’m proud of the life that I’ve lived. I don’t want to hide that,” Cindy says, “I don’t want to hide that I’ve been on the planet for sixty years. I think it’s something to celebrate.”

At the end of September, I attended the Consortium on Sexuality and Aging.  Although working with aging generations never really interested me until I went to this conference, I find myself inspired to empower older folks to continue to enjoy their sexual selves, even if it means adjusting their expectations and learning a new way to relate to one another and themselves.

I learned so much.  I went to workshops on sexual addiction, infidelity, couple’s counseling, and sex toys.  I volunteered at the resources table, selling a book of lessons plans for older adults called Older, Wiser, Sexually Smarter and a book about senior sex titled Naked at Our Age by Joan Price.  I met the author of one of the textbooks I used as an undergraduate, Bill Taverner, who is also a co-author of Older, Wiser, Sexually Smarter. 

At the resources table, we also had a few booklets put together by Peggy Brick, who spoke at the conference.  Peggy is phenomenal.  She is 82 years old and still educating folks about sex.  Maybe that’ll be me one day.

A girl can dream.

Leave a Reply

