Kindle Fire

17 Nov

I now have my brand new Kindle Fire in my hands.  I’m about to begin reading my first e-book, Kate Bornstein’s Hello Cruel World: 101 Alternatives to Suicide for Teens, Freaks, and other Outlaws

Photobucket

Image courtesy of LEDfrog.com

I’m having some emotional turmoil about purchasing e-books.  Aside from the fact that they seem irrationally expensive for a thing that is no more than intangible data that don’t require materials to produce…I like to have a physical library.  I like to loan out copies of my books, particularly the ones related to sexuality.  I think that, after Hello Cruel World, I will only be purchasing novels for my Kindle and will continue to purchase physical versions of the books related to my fields of study.  However…It is extremely tempting to think that I might be able to carry around my entire library, including numerous entire textbooks, in one electronic tablet that weighs the same as a small paperback book.

What do you think?  Would you use an e-reader?  If you already use an e-reader, do you have any book recommendations?  As a student, would you consider it as an alternative to carrying around heavy, expensive, paper-and-binding versions of your textbooks?

Leave a Reply

