First Semester Finished!

12 Dec

Hi, folks.  You may have noticed that I’ve been curiously absent.

Okay, so it’s not that curious.  It’s actually kind of a regular occurrence.  But still.  I’ve been busy finishing up the first semester of my three year graduate program. As such, I have been almost entirely closed off from the world  My dogs are lucky if they get fed and taken for walks twice a day, as that requires me to actually arise from my desk and potentially interact with other living beings.

Photobucket

Yeah.  That sums it up.

This semester, I only had one sexuality-related course – Concepts in Human Sexuality.  But next semester I will have THREE.  History and Ethics, Foundations of Clinical Sexology, and Behavioral Foundations in Human Sexuality.  Get excited, guys.  I’m sure I will be coming back to you armed with loads of new and fascinating information when the new semester begins in January.  For now…you may be happy to know that I have now finished all of my coursework and will soon be traveling again.  I have a sixteen hour drive back to Chicago, with pit stops in Pittsburgh, Columbus, and Indianapolis.

I will try to post at least once weekly during the holiday season.  More, if possible.  Ideally, I would like to maintain my schedule of Wordless Wednesdays, as well as an additional post each week.  Plus, a True and False post one Sunday a month and monthly installments of “Sex in the News”.  I have some work to do catching up on those.

Thank you for bearing with me as I get this whole blogging thing sorted out.  I’ve been doing better!  Right?

Riiiiight?

 

2 Responses to “First Semester Finished!”

  1. Alex Zorach January 27, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    This picture is kinda funny, but it also highlights a difference between how I look at life and academics, and how I think mainstream society tends to view them.

    I think a lot of people think in a very linear sense, like, there’s a fixed amount of time in the day, and if you’re socializing more (or having more sex), you’ll have less time for things like academics.

    My experience has been quite to the contrary. Often, when I’m not socializing much, I tend to not structure my time very well. I might have a large number of hours in the day, but I don’t put them to good use. I also find that interactions with people can give me insights and creative energy that enables me to work more intelligently.

    • therainydayreview January 27, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      I think that is an absolutely excellent point. Making time for fun (whether it’s socialization or sex) definitely helps me to be more productive. Keep busy means you have to use your time more wisely.

      Unfortunately, there often comes a point in my semester where I absolutely don’t have time for anything but finishing papers and maybe eating some food and taking care of other bodily functions. But maybe that’s because I’m too busy enjoying myself during the rest of the semester? LOL

      🙂 Thanks for your input!

Leave a Reply

