Learning How to Eat

3 Jan

I have a new obsession. I realize it may not seem directly related to sexuality, but it is certainly tied to energy, health, and positive body image, which are absolutely related to sexuality.

I’ve always been an environmentalist. My father’s a serious outdoorsman and he taught me, from a young age, to conserve energy and water, to recycle and reuse, to love all creatures. So, today, I turn off the water when I brush my teeth, I don’t drink bottled water, I adopt my dogs instead of buying from a pet store or a breeder, and so on. I realized recently that I try to take better care of the planet than I do of myself. Why not do both? At the same time, even?

This year, I want to start eating sustainably. It’s better for me and it’s better for the Earth. I want to eat locally, organically, and seasonally. I want to detoxify. I want to take vitamins. I want to take care of my insulin resistance and get healthy. I want to cook more, like I used to. I want to learn more about gardening so that I’m prepared for when I have the chance to grow my own vegetables in the future.

Photobucket

This chart is of seasonal produce within 200 miles of New York. If you live in the general area, this applies to you! If not, visit Sustainable Table to search for seasonal produce in your area, as well as the locations of farmer’s markets where you can make purchases.

2 Responses to “Learning How to Eat”

  1. Alex Zorach January 27, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    This is really exciting! I think it’s awesome you’ve decided to undertake this sort of project!

    There’s so much that can be grown locally in this climate. If you’re creative, you can even grow some tropical crops indoors. In Southeast PA, there’s a farmer that has started growing ginger in a greenhouse…it is very tasty!

    There are also so many plants that grow wild here that we don’t eat. If you learn to identify them, you’ll see various types of winter cress and other edible cabbage-family plants growing as winter annuals. These are not only edible, they’re delicious and they grow on their own, without any care.

    And I’m constantly discovering new fruits. Some of them go unharvested, planted as street trees in urban areas, or in parks. This past year I tried a hackberry for the first time…they taste like a cross between fresh dates and carrot cake. Pretty yummy!

    • therainydayreview January 27, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

      Wow, what excellent information 🙂 I do hope you’ll continue to comment! I’m loving your insight. Thank you so much for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

